Skip to content

2024 Talks

All meetings, unless otherwise stated, will be held at Penn Bowling & Social Club, 10 Manor Road, Wolverhampton WV4 5PY. Doors will open at 7.00pm, for a prompt 7.30pm start.

Thursday, 18th January: The Wolverhampton Society AGM, followed immediately by a talk on The Bilston Town Hall Refurb. Speaker: Keith Hodgkins. Please note: the AGM is open to TWS members only. Both members and guests are welcome to the talk, estimated to commence around 8.00pm.

Thursday, 15th February: Jackie Harrison on The History of Wolverhampton’s Queen Street.

Thursday, 21st March at The Royal School, Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0EG: John Thomas on The Noble House of Goldthorn Hill.

Thursday, 18th April: Ned Williams on Who Photographed Wolverhampton’s Railways?

Thursday, 16th May: Jennifer Davies on Local Connections to the Gunpowder Plotters.

Thursday, 20th June: Dr Kuli Kohli on The Life, Times and Work of a Wolverhampton Poet Laureate.

Thursday, 18th July: Elaine Joyce on The Siege of Dudley Castle.

Thursday, 22nd August: Part 2 of Richard Sells’ talk on John “Iron-Mad” Wilkinson.

Thursday, 19th September: Dr Clare Roberts-Molloy on Soroptimists.

Thursday, 24th October: David Guest on The Dane Battles Around Wolverhampton.

Thursday, 21st November: Chris O’Brien on Sir Stephen Jenyns: Lord Mayor of London and founder of Wolverhampton Grammar School.

Thursday, 12th December: Jools Farrell on The 21st Anniversary of the Wolverhampton Fairtrade Association.