Skip to content

Richard Rhodes Award

On 23 November 2023, Jackie Harrison became the latest recipient of the Society’s Richard Rhodes award. This is awarded to deserving members of the community who have promoted and preserved the history and heritage of our city over many years.

Jackie is a prominent Wulfrunian who:

  • has been involved in all facets of Community History for many years;
  • is a mainstay of WV Archives and the Wednesfield History Society;
  • researched many buildings for Wolverhampton’s Queen Street Heritage project- she is affectionately known as the “Queen of Queen Street”;
  • contributed to the digitisation of Express & Star photo archive; and
  • developed and presented many local history talks.

Jackie Harrison being presented the 2023 Richard Rhodes Award by The Wolverhampton Society Chairman, David Dungar.

Previous winners of the Richard Rhodes Award

2015: Frank Sharman

2016: Billy Howe

2017: Roy Stallard

2018: Bev Parker

2019: Ned Williams

2020: Graham Hughes

2021: Tom Larkin

2022: Lawson Cartwright and Nigel Martin